Easy Crockpot Tikki Masala

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 5.37.14 PM

Ladies and gentlemen, it is officially crockpot season!  The leaves here in Minnesota have finally decided to change coloring, and are now changing and falling at breakneck speed. I traded my flip flops in for a cute pair of boots and found my sweaters.  Obi is shedding like crazy.  As the Starks would say…WINTER IS COMING! (Yes…that was a GoT reference.  Get over it.)

For now, the weather is gorgeously cool and cozy.  Perfect for crockpots and warm comforting meals.  There is nothing better than coming home after a long day at work to the smell of delicious food that is already cooked and all you have to do is sit down and eat it.

I made this meal for parent-teacher conference night, because I knew I would have no energy to cook after 12 straight hours of students and parents.  The only thing that wasn’t already done was the rice, which I asked my fiance to make while I was driving home.  Turns out, my fiance can’t make rice.  Not even close.  Even when I give very specific directions.  (He also set a pot of boiling water on fire once, so I’m not really surprised.)

As far as the recipe, it is sort of a lightened up non-traditional take on a Tikki Masala.  I used coconut milk instead of cream.  It was delicious.  If I was cooking this just for myself I would have used more cayenne instead of paprika to bump up the heat, but the fiance isn’t a huge spice fan so I was kind and didn’t do that.

I also made the sauce and starting marinating the chicken the night before, so all I had to do was throw everything into the pot the next morning and turn the crockpot on.

2015-10-13 19.59.05

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs uncooked chicken, diced into ~ 1.5 inch cubes
  • 1/4 cup yogurt
  • squeeze of lemon juice
  • 30 oz tomato sauce
  • 1 T ground coriander
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground clove
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamon
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • salt, to taste
  • 1 inch piece ginger, grated
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 white onion, diced
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 T cornstarch
  • 1 large lemon
  •  chopped cilantro, basmati rice, and/or naan bread to serve

Directions

Put the chopped chicken in a large bowl with the yogurt and a squeeze of lemon juice.  Let marinate while you make the sauce, or overnight.  For the sauce, pour tomato sauce, spices, ginger, garlic, and onion all into the bowl of your crockpot.  Mix well.  Taste, and add spice as desired.  Or leave it like this if you are happy.  🙂

You can now refrigerate the sauce and chicken overnight, or get it started.  Add the chicken to the sauce in the crockpot and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

When ready to eat, pour the whole thing into a large skillet.  Add the coconut milk and cornstarch and let cook down and thicken for about 10 minutes while you are getting the rice or other accompaniments ready.  Finish with juice of one lemon before serving.

Serve with rice or naan bread or both (like I did, because I am bad at making decisions).  Garnish with cilantro.

2015-10-13 19.59.22

Delicious.

Like us on Facebook!

3 comments

  1. hooklineandinkwell · October 15, 2015

    I want to try this…it sounds and looks delicious, and fortunately, I can cook rice 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • amanda · October 15, 2015

      Thanks! It is super delicious, and unbelievably easy too! (Except for my fiance…) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • hooklineandinkwell · October 15, 2015

        haha 🙂 you are welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

