Classic Lasagna

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 8.26.58 AM

Summer is over, friends.  Tomorrow I go back to work, to my classroom, open house, parents, lesson plans, grading, meetings, and my students.  Tomorrow.  Oh my goodness.

So I had to make one of my favorite meals that happens to take a ridiculous amount of time to cook, making it almost impossible on a school-year-weekday.  That meal, of course, is lasagna.  Beautiful, decadent, all from scratch lasagna.  This meal seems to get a bit mistreated in the USA, because people drench the noodles in unnecessary quantities of sauce and cheese and don’t let the noodles do their job of carrying the dish.  Pasta is delicious.  It does not need to be drowned.

I made this dish with a creamy ricotta and sour cream sauce, my marinara sauce recipe (that seems to be going into everything these days).  homemade pasta, and a mixture of ground beef and mushrooms for some heart and earthiness.  Of course, there was also lots of mozzarella cheese.  This is my meal plan for dinners this week, because I just will not have much time to cook.  Open house goes late both Tuesday and Wednesday.

It may seem strange to celebrate summer with a heavy baked pasta.  Don’t judge.  It has been cool here.  Summer is over anyway.

Ingredients

  • 1 batch marinara sauce
  • 22 oz ricotta cheese
  • 10 oz sour cream ( I used a light version)
  • 4-6 cups shredded mozzarella, as desired
  • 3.5 cups flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 T water
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 8 oz baby bella mushrooms, chopped
  • 2 T black pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp chili flakes
  • salt
  • olive oil

Directions

Start by preparing the marinara sauce using the recipe in the link.

20150828_162621

Let it simmer for up to half an hour, then turn heat off. (Everything is easier to work with if it is cool when you build the lasagna.

While the sauce simmers, prepare the meat and mushrooms.  Cook the ground beef in a large skillet over medium heat.  When it starts to brown, add the chopped mushrooms, cumin, smoked paprika, chili flakes, salt, and 1 T black pepper.  Continue cooking until the meat is done and the mushrooms have released and then soaked their juices back up.

20150828_162614

The meat gets a slight kick to it from the spices.  It is fab.  When it is done, let cool until you are ready to build the lasagna.

While the meat cooking, make the pasta dough.  Put flour, eggs, water, and 1 tsp salt in the bowl of a stand mixer.  Mix with a spoon until ingredients start to combine, then attach your dough hook and let it knead the dough for 2-3 minutes.  Then use your hands to form the dough into a ball.  The dough should be leathery but pliable, not sticky at all.  Add water or flour as necessary to make it the right consistency.  Let the dough rest at room temperature for 20 minutes.

20150828_162604

While the dough rests, make the cheese sauce.  Combine ricotta, sour cream, and 1 T black pepper in a large bowl.  Let rest until you are ready to build the lasagna.

Set a large pot of water to boil, with a bit of salt and oil in it.  When it is close to boiling, Send your pasta through your pasta roller.  Set it through on the thickest setting to knead 4-5 times, folding in half between trips.  When it is smoother and the same thickness as your roller, send it through the thinner levels until you can start to see your hand through it.  I just went to level 4 on my Kitchenaid pasta roller.

Use a pasta cutter to cut each sheet to desired size.  I cut each pasta sheet into fourths.

20150828_165154

Put the sheets into  boiling water and cook for about 2 minutes.  Remove with a slotted spoon and let rest on a pan until you build the lasagna.  Feel free to drizzle the pasta with a little extra olive oil to prevent it from sticking.  I cooked the pasta in two batches.

To build the lasagna, start with about a cup of the sauce on the bottom of a 9″by13″ baking dish.  Then lay down one layer of noodles.

20150828_165526

Top with the ricotta cheese mix.

20150828_165629

Finally add the meat mix and a half cup of sauce.
20150828_165731

Top with another layer of pasta.  Repeat these layers until you are out of toppings.  I had four layers.  Make sure to reserve enough sauce to put on top of the dish.  I did this by not adding the sauce mix to every layer.  Also, add shredded mozzarella to at least one or two of the layers, on top of the ricotta.  Again, reserve enough to put on top of the dish at the end.

20150828_170003

When you are out of toppings, finish with a final layer of pasta noodles, then sauce, and finally shredded mozzarella.

20150828_184937

You should have a full pan of deliciousness.  Now!  The full lasagna can be refrigerated until you are ready to cook it if you are planning to make it within the next day or two.  You can also freeze it for another day.  When you are ready to cook, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Cook the lasagna for 30-40 minutes.  When it is finished, let cool for 3-5 minutes before serving.

20150828_193114

Goodbye summer, I will miss you!

9 comments

  1. eatingwellnyc · August 30, 2015

    I don’t think I have ever had lasagna with sour cream in it before but I love the addition of mushrooms.

    Like

    • amanda · August 30, 2015

      The sour cream makes the cheese sauce a little lighter and healthier (I used low fat sour cream), but also super creamy with a nice tang. I’ve tried a lot of different things for my cheese layer and this is by far my favorite! I definitely recommend trying it sometime! But the mushrooms are definitely my favorite addition. So yummy! Thanks!

      Like

  2. itsjusttoni · August 31, 2015

    Yummy! I use nonfat plain yogurt in mine. I add parsley, Parmesan cheese and an egg to make my filling. I will have to try yours!! I Have a Kitchenaid but even after over 40 years I haven’t bought the pasta accessories. You make me need one now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • amanda · August 31, 2015

      Yogurt is an awesome idea! I will have to try that for sure! And I definitely recommend the Kitchenaid pasta attachments, they will change your life!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Natascha's Palace · September 12, 2015

    Hope your first day went well. My first week was this week and I am exhausted! I have 220 students!

    Liked by 1 person

    • amanda · September 12, 2015

      Wow! That is crazy! I have about 150 and that is plenty!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

