Buffalo Chicken Wontons

Screen Shot 2015-08-25 at 7.15.23 PM

When I was in high school I got a job at a horrible mall food court pizza place.  The kind where pre-made pizza and baked pasta sit under a heat lamp all day looking progressively sadder.  As a kid, it was edible for a while, but eventually everything tasted like grease and it was time for a change of flavor.  In a food court, however, your options are pretty limited.  The only thing that I could eat just about every day while working was the wontons at the (mostly crappy and completely Americanized) Chinese food place next door.  Crunchy on the outside, creamy and savory on the inside.  I couldn’t tell you exactly what was in those wontons, but I do know that my love for savory wontons hasn’t diminished since high school.  Though I definitely don’t eat them as often as in my food court employment days.

This wonton recipe was inspired by game day cuisine.  In more ways than one.  It started last weekend when my father called a half hour before we had to leave for an American football game and said he wanted to tailgate before the game, instead of going to a bar, and that I should pack food.  What is a girl to do in that amount of time?  My response was a creamy, cold, buffalo chicken dip.  I had made hot buffalo chicken dip before, but without the time, I needed something quicker.  The result was more than I could have hoped for.  The dip was creamy, with enough buffalo flavor as well as the ranch dressing to balance the heat.

The trick to this dip was how quickly I could throw it together, while also packing soda, beer, chips, and salsa to make a good tailgate cooler.  I ran to the store down the street and grabbed quick ingredients, which is very different from how I usually cook.  I used a pre-cooked, grocery store rotisserie chicken, as well as store bought ranch.  Maybe next time I will do it all the long way.  But if you are looking to throw something quick and delicious together for a get together, I definitely recommend serving this dip with some tortilla chips.

But the dip is not what I am writing about.  I am writing about wontons.

So what do you do after game day when you have (not a lot, but more than you should eat in one sitting) leftover delicious buffalo chicken dip?  Make wontons.  Obviously.

So you want my expert recommendation?

Make the buffalo dip.  Have people over.  Eat half of it.  Turn the other half into wontons.

Boom.  Delicious!

In fact, I stopped in the middle of writing this post and made another batch.  You should probably do the same.

Ingredients

For Buffalo Chicken Dip:

  • 1 rotisserie chicken, deboned and shredded
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup buffalo dip
  • 1/4 cup ranch dressing
  • 2 cups shredded cheese (I used a triple cheddar blend from the grocery store)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder

For the wontons:

  • wonton wrappers (however many you desire)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Directions

Start by preparing the buffalo dip.  Combine all of those ingredients in a large bowl thoroughly with a fork.  You could also use a mixer if you wanted, but I did it by hand.  Feel free to add or subtract from the amounts of buffalo sauce and ranch dressing depending on how strong you want those flavors to be.

After the dip is made, set some of it aside to serve with tortillas chips.  This is the perfect tailgate party appetizer.

To make the wontons, crack the egg into a small dish and beat thoroughly.  Pour the olive oil into a small skillet.  (Use more oil if you are using a larger skillet.  You want a solid layer of oil on the bottom of the pan, just not too thick. I only made about 5 wontons at a time for the fiance and I, so a small skillet was fine.)  Heat on medium while you make the wontons.  For each wonton, set the wrapper on a flat surface.  Set about a tablespoon of buffalo chicken dip in the middle of the wrapper.

20150825_183748

Use a small brush, or a clean finger, to spread a thin layer of the egg wash on the edges of the wonton.  Fold over and seal the edges completely.

When the oil is hot, set the wontons in the pan.  Let cook for about a minute or so until the outside is brown, and then flip.

20150825_183939

When the second side is cooked, after about another minute, remove from the pan and set on a paper towel over a plate, to soak up the excess oil.  This keeps it from getting soggy or too greasy.  (Like bad food court cuisine…)

Serve as is, or with blue cheese dressing to dip in if you want another creamy element. I just ate them as quickly as possible.

Serious yum factor here.

(Like us on Facebook, or follow us on Pinterest!)

Leave a Reply

