Shakshuka

2015-08-21 09.22.49

Believe it or not, I am a real person.  As such, I do not like to waste food that I spent a long time cooking.  So when I make something like Eggplant Parmigiana that only uses half a batch of marinara sauce, I have to make something with the other half immediately!  Fortunately, my marinara sauce recipe is pretty amazing, so any excuse to eat it is a good excuse.

This dish has jumped right up onto my list of favorite breakfast meals.  It is warm, comforting, flavorful, and easy to make.  Did I mention healthy.  It is healthy too!  It is a skillet full of vegetables and eggs.  Shakshuka is traditionally a breakfast dish, but it would also work for a lunch or light dinner. Just serve it with some crusty bread, or even pita or challah, to help soak up the extra sauce.  Or skip the bread if you are cutting carbs, whatever floats your boat.  This dish is delicious either way.

Since I used the leftover sauce from another dish, my sauce had been sitting in the fridge for a couple days.  This is actually a good thing, as it lets the flavors marinade together to give the sauce greater depth.  If you don’t have any sauce already made, I will give the recipe below (for a half batch), but really any red pasta sauce will work for this.  The only thing you have to add is about a teaspoon of cumin, and half a teaspoon of smoked paprika.  That’s it.

Shakshuka is also pretty fun to say.

Ingredients

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 14 oz crushed tomatoes
  • 4 oz tomato paste
  • 1 tsp dry oregano
  • 1 tsp dry parsley
  • 1 tsp dry rosemary
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • salt and pepper
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta
  • 2 T fresh parsley, cilantro, or tarragon, chopped

Directions

Heat olive oil in a skillet.  Add onion and bell pepper and cook for about 8 minutes, or until the onion is translucent.  Add the garlic and cook for another minute.  Add tomato and cook for about 5 more minute.  Finally, pour the crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, and seasonings in the skillet.  Bring to a simmer and cook down for about 15 minutes.

2015-08-21 09.04.37

Crack the six eggs over the top of the sauce, evenly spreading them out.

2015-08-21 09.10.00

Sprinkle feta over the skillet. Salt and pepper the eggs lightly.

2015-08-21 09.10.49

Put a lid on the skillet and let simmer for about 10 minutes, or until the whites are cooked.  You want the eggs to still be runny.  Top with fresh chopped herb of your choice. (I used tarragon, because that is what looked good in my herb garden!)

2015-08-21 09.23.00

Serve with bread if desired to mop up the extra sauce.  Or just eat it up the way it is.  I promise I won’t judge.

2015-08-21 09.25.52

7 comments

  1. cookingtrips · August 24, 2015

    Those flavors echo like a trip to Israel :)))

    Liked by 1 person

    • amanda · August 24, 2015

      Thank you! I hoped they would! I love when food can take us places without ever leaving our kitchen!

      Liked by 1 person

      • cookingtrips · August 24, 2015

        I share the same vision. And that’s also what a part of my blog is about, even if it’s just starting for the moment i try cooking food from wherever i feel like going to!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. elizabethneeley · August 25, 2015

    I’ve never made this but have had it in my list for a while! I like the idea of just covering it rather than putting it in the oven. Looks yum!

    Liked by 1 person

    • amanda · August 25, 2015

      Thanks! It is definitely worth making! One of our new favorites for breakfast for sure. Covering it let’s you keep a little closer eye on the eggs so they get done exactly the way you want them. 🙂

      Like

  3. itsjusttoni · August 26, 2015

    Looks fantastic! We are not breakfast eaters so we will try this for dinner. I agree with your comment about not wasting- especially a lovely marinara sauce!

    Liked by 1 person

    • amanda · August 26, 2015

      Having this for dinner is a fantastic idea! I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

