Beer Can Chicken! Also….I’m back!

Hello friends!  It has been a while….

I could tell a long, sad story about how ridiculously busy my life was at the end of the school year.  I could also talk about the many things I have done this summer instead of blogging.  The good news is, that I definitely did a lot of cooking and have so many marvelous recipes to share with you all!

I’m starting off with the simplest, but perhaps tastiest of all my summer meals: Beer Can Chicken.  Or Beer Butt Chicken as we call it at my house.

Magic Chicken!

Magic Chicken!

My fiance and I love to grill during the summer.  Grilling season is impossibly short here in Minnesota, so we make the most of the little time we do have.  Grilled chicken, however is definitely not our strength.  For some reason I can never hit the perfect level of cooking where it is not underdone, or dry and gross.  I saw the idea of beer can chicken and had to try it.   I had no idea I was about to try the greatest grilled chicken.  Ever.

This chicken has a moist, juicy interior and a brilliantly crispy skin.  So if you, like me, have great grilled chicken woes, or even if you are just looking for a tasty and easy way to cook chicken, this is the recipe for you.

Ingredients

  • 1 whole chicken, washed and blotted dry with paper towel
  • approx. 1/4 cup of your favorite spice mixture (I used smoked paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, ancho pepper, chili powder, and cumin.)
  • salt and pepper
  • 3/4 can beer (I drank the top quarter, but you can dump it out if you want…)

Directions

Take your dried chicken and rub it first with a healthy dose of salt and pepper.  Follow this up by rubbing the whole chicken with your spice mixture.

Heat half of your grill to high heat.  I use a gas grill and just turn half the burners on high (around 400 degrees Fahrenheit).  If you use a charcoal grill, try to pile the coals on just one side of the grill.

Insert the can up beer inside the cavity of the chicken, so that it does not spill.  Set the chicken and beer can on the not-heated side of the grill so the chicken can cook on indirect heat.  The chicken can hold itself up on its legs and the beer can.  Just be careful moving it to the grill.

Cook the chicken with the lid shut for about 1 hour and fifteen minutes, or until it reaches about 165 degrees on the inside.

Use a tongs to remove the beer can.  Be careful.  The beer is hot and you do not want to spill it on yourself, or the chicken.  Let the chicken rest about ten minutes before serving.

Get it!

Leave a Reply

