Southwest Corn and Jicama Salad

20150312_193030

I have a little confession to make.  I absolutely love chopping vegetables.  It’s almost a fetish.  There is nothing I love more than to come home from work, pour a fat glass of wine, sit at my kitchen table and spend a solid hour chopping food up.  My favorite thing about cooking may actually be that I get to spend a bunch of time breaking things, only to end up with something amazing.  Who doesn’t love that?

Like Obi.  Who doesn't love Obi?  Seriously, look at that face!

Like Obi. Who doesn’t love Obi? Seriously, look at that face!

My love of vegetable chopping is one reason I love this salad.  Another is the dressing.  Seriously, I could it eat with a spoon.  Altogether, this salad has the perfect balance of sweet, spicy, bitter, and just plain fresh.  So very fresh.

Really, this is a summer dish.  It is best with fresh sweet corn, garden picked veggies, and eaten on a patio with a cold Corona.  In Minnesota these days, we seem to have finally broken the winter barrier.  Spring is in the air! Matt and I actually got to have a beer on a patio the other day.

If I was in charge of heaven, this is what it would look like.

If I was in charge of heaven, this is what it would look like.

So now I am in the mood for summer, and this dish is a symptom of that craving!  I absolutely recommend using fresh sweet corn for this meal, but if it does not happen to be the middle of july, my grocery store did carry hothouse corn on the cob.  Not the same at all, but close enough for this girl’s spring craving.

Maybe the best part of this dish is that it can be used in so many different ways.  My dad uses it like salsa on chips.  You could also put it on tacos or meat like a dressing or sprinkle it over a salad.  So many uses.  I tend to just eat it up with a spoon because it is so darn delicious!

So here ya go.  My all time favorite salad!

Ingredients:

3-4 cobs of sweet corn on the cob (Do NOT use frozen corn!)

2 tomatos

1 serrano pepper

1 medium jicama

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

2 cloves garlic

1 bunch fresh cilantro

1/2 red onion

1 lime

1 T honey

1 tsp red pepper flakes

Directions

Slice the raw corn off the cob directly into the bowl.  Use the flat edge of your knife to press along the cob to get the milk out.  Scrape over the bowl so the milk goes straight into the salad.  Mince the pepper and garlic.  Dice remaining vegetables and combine in the same bowl, along with the black beans.  In a separate dish, squeeze out the juice of one lime.  Add the honey and pepper flakes and whisk together.  Add salt and black pepper as desired.  Pout the sauce over the corn and jicama mixture, and stir well together.  Serve immediately, or let marinate for ~4 hours before serving.  Use within 3-4 days for freshest taste.

Leave a Reply

