Game Night Chorizo Nachos

20150309_181507

My love for Mexican food is very well documented on this blog.  Less well known is my love for games.  I adore games!  Game night at my house is at minimum a weekly occurrence.  Our favorites are strategies games that take way too many hours to play.  One of our favorites is called EuroRails.  It often takes Matt and I multiple days to play with our hectic schedules.

When you are playing long board games, you gotta have snack food.  Something fast and simple to throw together, but still delicious.  And a little indulgent.  Because why not?

These nachos were not something that I planned, but they are definitely a recipe I will be making again.  I have been craving Mexican food (what else is new) and recently bought every single mexican ingredient (almost) from our grocery store in anticipation of taco, taquitos, corn salad, and anything else I can think up.  Among my purchases were chorizo, tortilla chips, Queso Chihuahua, and Crema Mexicano.  And that is what I used to make these nachos.  Which I promise you will continue to frequent our gaming table.  And they should probably frequent your table as well, whether you use it to game, watch movies, or just to hang out.

Chip-py Perfection

Chip-py Perfection

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz chorizo (pork or beef)
  • 2 large handfuls tortilla chips
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cups Queso Chihuahua (or other mexican melting cheese)
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 T crema Mexicano (Mexican table cream, but sour cream would also be fine)

Directions:

Spread one handful of chips out on a baking sheet.  Cover with half of the cheese and half the chorizo.  On top of that, spread second handful of cheese.  Put half of remaining cheese, then the rest of the chorizo on top of the chips.  Finally, cover with the last portion of cheese.  Broil in the oven on high for 3-5 minutes, or until the cheese is all melted.  Top with chopped tomato, and drizzle with crema.  Serve immediately.  I scooped the chips off the baking sheet and put them on a large serving plate.

20150309_181439Now go have some fun!

Leave a Reply

