Breakfast Quesadillas

20150228_091835

Saturday mornings are my absolute favorite day of the week. It is the only morning that I don’t have to go to work, and I get the whole house to myself.  My fiance works on saturdays, so Obi and I are all by ourselves.

20150228_194628

Shenanigans.

This is my time to make a delicious breakfast that Matt won’t like (AKA not dripping in syrup).

I am absolutely obsessed with tex-mex inspired breakfast food.  Actually, not just the breakfast food.  Anything with pico de gallo, avocado, cilantro, tortillas, cumin, and oregano in it has a path directly to my heart.  My favorite of all time, however, has got to be the fabulous quesadilla.

This last week, I made burritos for dinner.  They were so awesome, Matt told me that they were the reason he was marrying me.  This is a true story.  These burritos had steak, pico de gallo, avocado, and queso chihuahua on them.  They were awesome, and they inspired an even better breakfast. All I needed was luscious, velvety scrambled eggs to turn this into a breakfast.

The trick to this meal, as usual, is not to skimp on any part of the dish.  Every single piece of this dish is important to build the right flavors and textures.

I used steak I had leftover from the previous night.  My steak was rubbed with salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika, oregano, and cumin, then cooked to a perfect medium rare.  It went perfectly on my quesadilla, but you could use any other meat you happen to have in the house, or leave it meatless for a fab vegetarian option.

Ingredients (Makes one serving.  Multiply by however many servings you need!)

  • 1 flour tortilla
  • 1/4 cup shredded Queso Quesadilla
  • 2 T pico de gallo (recipe to follow)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 T heavy cream
  • 1/4 tsp tarragon
  • 1/2 acocado, sliced
  • chopped cilantro
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

In a bowl, beat together eggs, cream, tarragon, salt, and pepper.  Put in pan over medium heat.  Stir regularly with rubber scraper to keep from sticking.  Remove from heat when eggs stick together, but before they stop looking wet.

Meanwhile, in another pan, heat a little oil over medium heat.  When warm, lay tortilla down for about 30 seconds.  Flip, and cover half of the tortilla in cheese and steak.  When cheese is melted, add the pico de gallo and fold tortilla in half.  Let cook for about a minute more, then remove from heat.  Top with eggs, avocado, and cilantro.

Pico de Gallo Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 handful cilantro
  • 3 mini sweet peppers
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

Chop tomatoes, cilantro, onion, garlic and sweet peppers. Mix together along with seasonings.  Let marinade in fridge for an hour before serving.

20150228_091802

2 comments

  1. roamingpursuits · March 2, 2015

    The food presentation looks good.

    Like

    • amanda · March 8, 2015

      Thanks! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

