Biscuits and Gravy are the Best

The holidays are a time for family, and for food!  This year I got to spend a whole day baking with my mom, and another whole day cooking up a feast with my sister!

20141220_113106

Mom! 

Growing up, one of the things our mother was very careful about  was to feed us a variety of things, and not let us complain.  We actually weren’t allowed to be picky eaters.  Now I appreciate this greatly, as there are very few things I won’t eat.  Back then, it was kinda rough.

The one and only time we were allowed to pick what we had for dinner was on our birthday.  Every year on my birthday I asked for the same thing.  Biscuits and gravy.

My obsession with biscuits and gravy has lasted into adulthood.  Maybe it is because I was born in the south.  I don’t really know why, but I know it is a beautiful thing.  Breakfast, lunch, dinner, whatever.  Unless it is that gross stuff they serve on continental breakfasts in hotels.  That stuff is poison.

My version of biscuits and gravy is a little different than the one my mom used to make when we were kids.  The gravy is spicy and peppery, and I use hot sausage.  I also use my Copycat Red Lobster Biscuits instead of regular drop biscuits, so that every single layer is loaded with flavor.

20150101_180612

This is a sexy biscuits and gravy.  If biscuits and gravy can be sexy.

First prep the biscuits from recipe linked above.  They can cook while you make the gravy.  Gravy recipe follows here.

Ingredients:

1 lb hot sausage

3 T flour

1 quart milk

1 T black pepper

1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1/4 tsp garlic powder

Salt to taste

Directions:

Brown the sausage in a large skillet or wok.  When fully cooked, sprinkle flour onto the sausage and mix until it coats the meat.  Pour in milk.  You can add more or less milk depending on what you want the meat/sauce ratio to be.  I used around a quart.   Mix in seasonings.  Again, add more or less to taste.  I like it pretty spicy, so I use a good amount of pepper.  Feel free to adjust.  Whisk until gravy comes to a boil and thickens.  If you need to thicken the gravy more, mix a little more flour in with some cold milk and add to gravy.  When gravy reaches desired consistency, remove from heat.  Serve immediately over biscuits.  Garnish with parsley.

Now eat it before your significant other can come home and devour it all. 🙂

4 comments

  1. bruce polson · January 2, 2015

    Love the picture of your mom in the Vikings hat :). Being born in the south probably helps with biscuits – but I don’t see lard and buttermilk in the ingredients list.

    Like

    • amanda · January 5, 2015

      I live in the north now….Gotta bring the two worlds together!

      Like

  2. faizamoghal · January 3, 2015

    never heard of it, sounds deish!

    Like

    • amanda · January 5, 2015

      Thanks! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

